About the S-SV EMS Agency


Joint Powers Agreement

The Sierra-Sacramento Valley Emergency Medical Services Agency (S-SV EMS Agency) is a Joint Powers Agency (JPA). The Governing Board of Directors for the JPA consists of a County Supervisor from each member county. S-SV EMS is designated as the Local EMS Agency (LEMSA) for each of the member counties under the authority of the Government Code, State of California (Section 6500, et seq.)

Regional EMS Agency (Click Here for a Map of the S-SV EMS Region)

The S-SV EMS Agency was founded in 1975, and serves as the regional EMS agency for the counties of Butte, Colusa, Glenn, Nevada, Placer, Shasta, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, and Yuba. The ten counties have a combined static population of approximately 1,300,000.


Planning, development and implementation of all EMS components, including regional trauma system planning has been delegated to the S-SV EMS Agency with the exception of disaster planning. The S-SV EMS Agency is a government body that has direct responsibility for:

  • Qualification, accreditation, authorization of all prehospital care personnel
  • EMS system design
  • Compliance with local and state regulations

S-SV EMS Agency Staff

Victoria A. Pinette, MS
Regional Executive Director

Troy M. Falck, MD, FACEP, FAAEM
Medical Director

John Lord, R.N., Paramedic
Associate Director/QI

John Poland, Paramedic
Associate Director/QI

Amy Boryczko
Administrative Secretary

Patrick Comstock, Paramedic
QI Coordinator

Kristy Harlan
Contracts Compliance Monitor

Michelle Moss, Paramedic  Specialty Systems Coordinator (Trauma, Stroke & STEMI) 

Pete Kruse
EMS Specialist

Shawn Joyce
Emergency Preparedness Coordinator/Emergency Preparedness Grant Coordinator

Miranda Hill
Certification Specialist

S-SV JPA Governing Board of Directors

Jim Holmes
Placer County Supervisor

Doug Lofton
Yuba County Supervisor

Ron Sullenger
Sutter County Supervisor

Hank Weston
Nevada County Supervisor

Kent Boes
Colusa County Supervisor

Bill Connelly
Butte County Supervisor

Leonard Moty
Shasta County Supervisor

Dennis Garton
Tehama County Supervisor

Brandon Criss
Siskiyou County Supervisor

John Viegas
Glenn County Supervisor